11-in, 5-out – Naidu’s cabinet expansion 2017

3 April 2017

The first expansion after Chandrababu took over as the first Chief Minister of the truncated Andhra Pradesh state happened on the 2nd of April at Amaravati. The even was carried out in a great celebrative mode in the presence of several Nara and Nandamuri family members. The main attraction is, Nara Locakesh is inducted into the AP cabinet by his CM father. Including him there are 10 other members who got the eat in cabinet. Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan ran the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at a ceremony. And 5 ministers are jerked out of the cabinet team.


Below is the list of the ins and outs.


Nara Lokesh, the 34-year-old son of CM, who was just elected to the state legislative council. He is also a graduate from the famous Stanford Business School from the USA, currently working as the General Secretary of TDP.

Akhil Priya, she is the youngest member of the cabinet, whose father and TDP legislator Bhuma Nagi Reddy died of a cardiac arrest, just a month ago. Also, she took oath on her birthday. She is just 26-year-old. She was elected to assembly in by-elections from Allagadda of Kurnool district after her mother, Shobha Nagi Reddy died in 2014 in a road accident during election campaign for YSRCP. After her mother’s death, Akhila and her father Bhuma Nagireddy shifted their loyalty to TDP.

Kala Venkat Rao, Andhra Pradesh TDP Unit Chief who earlier served as the Home Minister during the Nandamudi Taraka Rama Rao government also found a place in the Cabinet.

Chandramohan Reddy, who is a member of TDP politburo was also inducted to Cabinet.

Pitani Satyanarayana, who had quit Congress and joined TDP on the eve of 2014 elections, is also honored with the cabinet ministry. 

Amarnath Reddy from Chittoor district is one of the defectors who shifted their loyalty to TDP from YSRCP.

Adinarayana Reddy from Kadapa is also another Ex YSRCP member who defected to TDP has also received a seat in the cabinet.

Kalva Srinivasulu from Anantapur district,

Anandbabu from Guntur district,

Sujay Krishna Ranga Rao from Vijayanagaram and

K.S. Jawahar from West Godavari district.


On the other hand, the 5 ministers who were dropped from their posts by Chandrababu are:

1.     Palle Raghunath Reddy,

2.     R. Kishore Babu,

3.     B. Gopalakrishna Reddy,

4.     P. Sujata and

5.     K. Mirnalini.

There are total 19 ministers, including two from Telugu Desam Party's partner, Bharatiya Janata Party had also taken pledge along with him. Three members of YSRCP who had crossed over to the ruling TDP, were also welcomed into the Cabinet.

Most Viewed